Hello, I'm a professor in a movie...

The forum for general posting. Come join the madness. :)
Vandal
Director of Promos

Hello, I'm a professor in a movie...

#1 Post by Vandal » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:35 am

This was taken from a Twitter thread about movie stereotypes. It starts out with a professor, but various other characters pop up here and there. How many do you recognize?

Hello, I'm a professor in a movie, I only reach the main point of my lecture right as class is ending. Then I yell at students about the reading / homework as they leave.

Hello, I'm your history professor colleague in this movie. Class, who can tell me the year? What year was it that the history happened? You'll be expected to know the year, and only the most basic of facts. Why did the history happen? Who cares? Tell me the year.

Hello, I'm a professor in a movie, I have an uncanny knack for picking on Mr/Ms Who-isn't-paying-attention at this moment (I know the names of every student in my 200+ lecture) without looking up. The student is a genius who instinctively knows the answer.

Greetings colleague. In my lectures I pontificate about the nobility of my discipline without reference to specific knowledge, scholarly debates, or the dynamics of class assignments and assessment. Students squint thoughtfully, laptops absent.

I'm a scientist in a movie. No one listens to me (even though I'm 100% correct) until the last act when the sh*t has already hit the fan in a rather glorious manner. What? That's not the game we're playing?

Oh, hello, I'm a librarian at your university. I know exactly where every volume is shelved offhand, what every patron has been reading, and can recite a rare midieval tome as i pull it off the open shelves. I am also staffing the circulation desk

Great! Professor I need your help. The government recognizes you as an expert in your field so without discussion of pay, and no regards for your constitutional rights you're going to have to come with us.