Things I'm not very good at: #23

The forum for general posting. Come join the madness. :)
BackInTex

Things I'm not very good at: #23

#1 Post by BackInTex » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:41 am

Not necessarily #23 in priority: Comforting others when they need it

I've known for a long time I'm not very good at it. I've been thinking about it a lot today as I should have been doing some comforting last night for a family member but was not successful. Looking back I didn't even try.

My problem (self diagnosis) is rather than doing the comforting I immediately look to understand the cause of the dismay, the factors, the actions taken (or not), that created the situation where the person is down and needs comforting. Along with root cause analysis I'm also considering solutions and alternatives to resolve the situation. I know there is a time for those two things, but not initially when the person is down. Some may see it as a lack of empathy. I don't think it is. I just want to help fix the situation, now.

I'm a work in progress.

Others I've seen, who are not so good at the comforting thing are more along the "Pull yourself up by the bootstraps, man!" or "You've got no reason to be down, look at the folks in the Sudan!" types. That's not me. I don't try to pick someone up by showing them that their current situation is not that bad compared to others.
..what country can preserve it’s liberties if their rulers are not warned from time to time that their people preserve the spirit of resistance? let them take arms.
~~ Thomas Jefferson

Bob78164
Bored Moderator

Re: Things I'm not very good at: #23

#2 Post by Bob78164 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:00 pm

BackInTex wrote:Not necessarily #23 in priority: Comforting others when they need it

I've known for a long time I'm not very good at it. I've been thinking about it a lot today as I should have been doing some comforting last night for a family member but was not successful. Looking back I didn't even try.